It’s all natural

Actually, this post was supposed to be kind of short. I wanted to dedicate it to all you nature lovers and especial to my mother. Mum, this post is still dedicated to you, but will contain a few things I came across. A few funny stories that happened today.

So I was going to school as usual in the morning by Bus. Only to see one more time, how kind and patient Georgian people usually are with other people and their needs. Just short before we were to cross some rather big interjunction, the driver most likely all of a sudden discovered he gets out of cigarettes. It must have been magic, but when we were on the middle of that interjunction a very old lady appeared out of nowhere, selling cigarettes in the middle of the street. And the driver simply stopped, turned off the engine and bought cigarettes from her. Back in Germany, everybody would have gone super mad. Here in Georgia, the passengers stay calm and patient, and nobody gets loud or anything. They don’t even wonder. Those two guys singing in the back of the bus didn’t even stop their performance.

I had to teach two lessons of seven graders today. Last lesson they got the task to write about their family, hobbies of family members and all that to give all of them a bit of badly needed writing practise and to let me see where we are. My teacher promised me to collect all the around 20 papers after the lesson. When she only gave me 11 papers afterwards, I asked her, what is with the other students. She said, they did not want to hand it in (What?!) and that some of them do not write and that she had to explain one of them the ABC (WHAT?!). That’s the downside of the very common practise to only speak with the stronger students and to kind of completely ignore the weaker students and not even forcing them to do homework or to participate in lesson tasks. The good students are making decent progress, but the weaker are completely inactive in the lessons.

Anyway, I corrected the papers today in the morning just to find 7 common mistakes I was going to go through with them in the lesson. Me and my fellow teacher explained them a few things and I wrote down example sentences on the blackboard and asked them to write them down and form own sentences in their notebooks. It was the first time I saw the vast majority of the class participate (except one) and I think they learned a lot today. Whenever they formed one or two sentences on their own, they came rushing in front to let me correct it (and I can say they made really good progress). Excited by my handwriting in their notebooks it did not take long for somebody to come up with the idea to let me give autographs. As soon as the bell rang, everybody did not rush out of the class room as usual, but to surround me on my desk and asking for signatures. Two minutes later, a girl made dragged a whole other 7th grade class in the room. They all brought their notebooks. Guess, what they wanted: “Didi! Big!” they yelled.

Another couple of minutes later the students accompanied me to my next class to show me the room and just to spread the idea of getting autographs.

My next two lessons were in a grade 9 class with Maia, another fellow teacher. They saw me the first time and got all excited (as usual) and asked me loads of personal questions (as usual) beside questions how I liked Georgia (as usual). Almost two lessons with a dictaction, exercises and all that later, somebody came up with the idea to invite me to Khinkali today. Me, Maia and a German teacher then waited until their next lesson was over sitting in the language office, introducing seasons, colors, months and school material in Georgian to me, drinking coffee and eating pear.
Around one hour later (because everybody was late, what else), we finally entered the restaurant, where
1. My teacher made me eat 7 Khinkali additional to one piece of pizza,
2. one student who is the nephew of Maia went to Maia’s home and brought a bottle of home made Vodka (chacha)
3. the 14 year old students drank home made vodka they brought to the restaurant from home while two teachers were present and nobody found anything strange about that fact,
4. my teacher convinced me to drink “only one” chacha shot bottoms up just to fill up the glass again after I emptied the first one, telling me: You have two feet, any of them has to get one,
5. we finally had a whole (mobile phone camera) photo shooting with almost every of the 10 present students.

Chacha is by the way way stronger then the vodka we get in the supermarkets at home. I can say I drank quite a few vodkas in my former life and a normal vodka does not burn like hell in my mouth but this one felt like damn acid in the throat. And those two shots are probably worth four shots of generic vodka. Plus I am not a regular drinker. Imagine you never drink much and then have four vodka shots in five minutes. That’s how I felt, astonishly watching my 14 year old students.

Anyway, the bus back home stopped again for a lady who just wanted to fill up her bottle at a water source beside the street, which took her around one minute. Nobody got mad. One day, when my Georgian is good enough, I will try this.

Now here are photos of our trip to the botanical garden and at the same time photos of me and my family. It took me kind of long but such photos in a context are better then constructed photos of them sitting on the couch or something anyway. This time as a slideshow. Those are simply to much to be linked individually. It’s running automatically, but when you hover with the mouse button over the image, you can stop it and move forward and rewind by clicking the appropriate buttons. Enjoy!

PS: If you want certain images in a higher resolution, contact me!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

About Paul

Hey, my name is Paul and I will be going to Georgia for one year to assist English language teachers in public schools through the "Teach and Learn with Georgia" program.
This entry was posted in Batumi, Georgia, School. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to It’s all natural

  1. raughley says:

    Damn, Pauli, you’re a great photographer! Those were some stunning photos of the garden and especially good portraits of your family. Well done, sir.

  2. noirdesir says:

    Hey Paul, your photos become from meet to meet better and better.
    This is miraculous! 🙂
    And: It gives to me a lot of pleasure to read your stories. Please do it again and again.

  3. biene says:

    ooor die sind ja alle süß 🙂

Leave a Reply

