First days in Batumi

So I am finally in Batumi at my host family’s place. I really like them a lot. Not to put too many personal details on the internet, just saying that my host dad is working in a local and a nationwide TV station and speaks a fair bit of German, while my host mum is working in the local government as press coordinator and speaks English.

I am also going to have two sisters, Mari and Ekatherina (six and nine years old). Sweet, I like that. They are still at their grandparents place back in the Adjarian mountains in Khulo at the moment.

We are living in a recently built house at the edge of Batumi, loads of flora around us. A very silent place, a few cows on the street and roosters waking you up every other morning. Around 30 min. of walking to the beach and down town, but there are buses and marshutkas (mini buses) going too.

My host dad was not working my first day here in Batumi, so he showed me around the city (beautiful place, loads of photos to come in future posts), bought me ice cream, took me to a boat ride at a small lake in the city. After lunch we were going to Sarpi, a holiday resort right to the Turkish border with stunning sight view and to Gonio, a 2.400 year old fortress, where we drank fresh water from a natural spring and met a few people my host dad knows from work.

Small lake in the city

On our way to Sarpi

Sarpi Beach

Sarpi Beach

Me in Sarpi 🙂

Gonio Fortress

Gonio Fortress

Gonio Fortress

Gonio Fortress

Gonio Fortress

Afterwards, we went to a shiny café near the port of Batumi, had a refreshing juice and a light breeze before we went home and relaxed a bit, trying to communicate in a mix of German, Georgian and a bit Russian. In the evening we went to relatives, who have a 19 year old son speaking quite a bit English.

I met him the other day and we went swimming in the Black Sea, exploring the city, the university, again swimming and later to the basar of Batumi by marshutka. Had a really good time, tons of ice cream and immediately fell in love with the Black Sea. Warm, salty water, lots of public and no sandy beach – so no sand in your shorts, bags, clothes, mobile phones, ears… Love that!

Batumi port

Batumi port

Batumi port

Seminar room in Batumi University

Stairs in the University

Outlook from a seminar room in the university

More to come soon.
Oh and by the way, I got a haircut for 5 GEL (2,30 €). 🙂

About Paul

Hey, my name is Paul and I will be going to Georgia for one year to assist English language teachers in public schools through the "Teach and Learn with Georgia" program.
This entry was posted in Batumi, Georgia. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

