10h of West Georgia to Batumi

Sudden change of plans, that is what they told us we have to get used to in Georgia. Actually, I was in the first group of volunteers arriving in Georgia, but due to exams got rescheduled for the second group. Everybody from my group was supposed to be in the Guria or Samegrelo region in Georgia, I was the only one to go to Batumi. And the buses of the others would not cross Batumi at all.

So, how to get to Batumi? First I was told that there is going to be a car picking me up in Kutaisi to bring me to Batumi. Then i was supposed to be taken from Kutaisi to Ozurgeti, where my host family was going to pick me up. When calling my host family the night before leaving it turned out they did not know at all they were going to pick me up.

The next day came and I was told that I will be going with the Bus all over West Georgia with my fellow group mates to Ozurgeti where SOMEBODY was going to pick me up. At that point I was not entirely sure if this was going to happen, but was filled with a certain kind of curiosity.

So I was getting into one of the two buses at ten past 11 am to go from central Georgia all up to the north west before getting to the very south west. No worries. At least, this way I was going to see various parts of the country already what made me quite happy. Turned out that the window next to my seat in the Bus was incredibly dirty, so no photos from the bus this time.

Our first stop, Senaki, was a bit weird. We did not see much of the city but were driven to a stunningly old school that obviously has not seen any reconstruction for decades. Most schools in Georgia have though and anyway, it’s all about the educational content, right?

Gym in Senaki School

Senaki School

Lavatories

Foyer of Senaki School

Zugdidi near the border to the Abkhaz territory was surprisingly active and good in shape. I will definitely come back there.

Zugdidi

Zugdidi Down Town

Zugdidi Downtown

Zugdidi Downtown

Zugdidi Downtown

Zugdidi Down Town

At 6 we finally got to Ozurgeti, where the last of us were picked and introduced to their family. Eventually two guys from the Adjarian ministry of education showed up with a classic Lada Niva 4×4 without seatbelts in the back (well, they were fixed behind the bench). They only spoke about 10 words of English (compared to my 15 words of Georgian) but brought me safely to my host family’s house at the edge of Batumi, where after 10 hours in the bus I had delicious Georgian dishes in my shiny new home with my lovely new family.

About Paul

Hey, my name is Paul and I will be going to Georgia for one year to assist English language teachers in public schools through the "Teach and Learn with Georgia" program.
This entry was posted in Batumi, Georgia, Kutaisi. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

