Georgia! Here I come.

Yes, I am going to Georgia. No, not Georgia, USA. Yes, Caucasus-Georgia. Tbilisi-Georgia. Rose Revolution-Georgia.

I was selected as a participant in the project “Teach and Learn with Georgia”. Teach and Learn with Georgia is a program that aims to improve English teaching in public schools all around Georgia. Every second school in Georgia will have an own volunteer assisting 2-3 local teachers to introduce interactive methods and modern means of English education into the lessons. Summed up, there will be around 1000 volunteers from all around the world in schools in basically every region of Georgia.

I am staying in Batumi, a beautiful city at the coast of the Black Sea. Wikipedia told me, that there is subtropical climate with quite high temperatures and loads of rain (around four times more then in my home town).

I am originally from Dresden, Germany, am 22 years old and will be teaching here¬† for around one year. My date of arrival in Tbilisi was the 14th of August, then there as an orientation week in Kutaisi before I was taken to Batumi into my host family’s place.

The header is by the way taken at the Gelati Monastery near Kutaisi.

More to come soon!

About Paul

Hey, my name is Paul and I will be going to Georgia for one year to assist English language teachers in public schools through the "Teach and Learn with Georgia" program.
This entry was posted in Caucasus, Georgia, TLG. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

